Registration Information: Close to Home Schools
How to register for the 2008/2009 school year:

Step 1: Visit and register. (This step is only for parents who are not already signed up for Parent Connect.) You can register from home, work, library or any school. Once you have registered you will need to visit any school of your convenience to pick up your user id and password that you will need for Step 2.

Step 2: Visit {beginning April 23, 2008) to confirm your reservation. You can do this from home, work, library or any school.

Step 3: Go to your assigned school to confirm your registration and register.

You will need the following documents to officially enroll your student:

1. Birth certificate or other proof of identity/age
Students must be 5 years old on or before September 1 to attend Kindergarten. Students must be 6 years old on or before September 1 and have completed kindergarten to attend grade 1. All students new to Pinellas County Schools must present proof of identity/age. These items also may be accepted as legal evidence of birth.
* A duly attested transcript of the child’s birth record filed according to law with a public officer charged with the duty of recording births (i.e., national, state or consular issued original birth certificate). The school system cannot accept birth evidence that contains finder or footprints.
* A duly attested transcript of a certificate of baptism showing the date of birth and place of baptism of the child, accompanied by an affidavit sworn to by the parent.
* An insurance policy on the child’s life that has been in force for at least two years.
* A bonafide contemporary religious record of the child’s birth created at or near the time of the child’s birth, in commemoration or recognition of the event, accompanied by an affidavit sworn to by the parent.
* A passport or certificate of arrival in United States showing the age of the child.
* A transcript record of age shown in the child’s school record of at least four years prior to application, stating the date of birth.
* If none of these evidences can be produced, an affidavit of age sworn to by the parent, accompanied by a certificate of age signed by a public health officer or practicing physician, which certificate shall state that the health officer or physician has examined the child and believes that the age as stated in affidavit is substantially correct.

2. Proof of residency

Present one of the following items: utility bill for power, water, cable, sewer or land-based telephone (not cellular); rental agreement or lease; closing document; Pinellas County tax statement with a homestead exemption. The item must be recent and contain the name of the parent/guardian and service address on it. If you do not have one of these items in the name of the parent or guardian, you must complete an Affidavit of Residency. This document is available at schools. It must be completed, notarized on both sides and submitted with one of the items listed above in the name of the person with whom you reside and who is listed on the affidavit.
3. Child’s Social Security number

School system personnel are required to ask for this, but the child is not required to have one.
4. Child’s most recent report card

Applicable to students entering grades 1 -12. It should include the school’s address and phone number.
5. Florida Certificate of Immunization

All new students entering school in Florida for the first time must have a completed Florida Certificate of Immunization (DOH 680) appropriate for their grade level.
6. Physical examination certificate

All new students entering school in Florida for the first time must have a school health examination certificate signed by a licensed examiner (certificate must have been issued within 12 months prior to enrollment/registration).
7. A recent Individual Education Plan (IEP)

For students who participates in ESE (exceptional student education).
Footer - Left Corner Image